MariaRose Tours Company

When you are in StPetersburg you wish to see everything. It is difficult to visit all sightseeing in St. Petersburg. We offer top 15 sights of the second largest city of Russia!

TOP 15 SIGHTS

The Hermitage museum & Palace Square

Open: 10.30 - 17.00, Sun till 16.00. Closed on Mon.

2 Dvortsovaya pl.

Nevskiy Prospekt

The State Hermitage is one of greatest museums in the world. Five historical buildings, including Winter Palace - the residence of Russian tsars, make the basis of the museum complex. The Hermitage keeps about 3 million monuments of culture and art of the European and Oriental peoples, from high antiquity till nowadays: pictures, graphic sheets, sculptures, a richest collection of applied art items, over a million coins and medals, archaeologic materials. Among the Hermitage's treasures, there are artworks by Leonardo da Vinci, Raphael, Michelangelo, Titian, fine things by Rembrandt and Rubens, famous collection of impressionists and post-impressionists, Matisse and Picasso. World-renowned are the collections of Scythian gold and the antiquities from the Black Sea North Littoral.

Lined by the imperious Winter Palace and the sweeping majesty of the General Staff building, this square is one of the world's most impressive inner-city expanses. The West the square borders with the Admiralty. With the guilded spire of the Admiralty and the dome of St Isaac's clearly seen from here, the view westwards across the stone-clad expanse of Palace Square is quite breathtaking. In the middle of the square the Alexander Column creates an important focal point for this great architectural ensemble. Like Red Square in Moscow, this open area has been a witness to the turmoil in Russian history.

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tours:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

The Russian Museum & Fine Arts Square

Open: 10.00 - 17.00, Mon till 16.00. Closed on Tue.

2 Inzhenernaya ul., tel. 595-4248.

Gostinyy Dvor, Nevskiy Prospekt

Fine Arts Square where the Russian musem is contains three museums and three theatres and thus fully justifies its name. The whole architectural ensemble of the square was design in classical style by architect Carlo Rossi in the first half of the 19th centiry.

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tour:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

The Peter & Paul Fortress

Open: 11.00 - 17.00, Tue till 16.00. Closed on Wed and on the last Tue of every month.

3 Petropavlovskaya Krepost tel. 238-0505.

Gorkovskaya

The Museum of St.Petersburg History

The Peter and Paul Fortress was founded by Peter I in 1703. Except the old fortifications themselves, there are the Sts Peter and Paul Cathedral of the early XVIII century (architect D.Trezzini) with the burial vault of Peter the Great and other Russian tsars, the museum in Trubetskoy Bastion prison, the exhibitions "The History of St.Petersburg - Petrograd. 1830-1918", "Museum to Old Petersburg", "Pechatnya (Printing Workshop)", "Museum for Adults and Children", "Three Centuries above the City" (dedicated to the history of building Cathedral's belfry), and museum on space exploration and missilery. An excursion route "Panorama of the Neva" goes over the roofs of the fortress bastions and curtains.

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tours:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

St.Isaac's Cathedral & Colonade

Open: 11.00 - 18.00. Closed on Wed.

Isaakievskaya pl. tel. 315-9732.

Gostinyy Dvor, Nevskiy Prospekt

One of the finest architectural monuments of the XIX century (architect A.Montferrand), formerly principal cathedral of the Russian capital, the largest cathedral in town able to accommodateca.10,000 people. The cathedral is graced with 112 solid granite columns weighing up to 114 tons each, and about 400 relieves and bronze sculptures. The observation platform on the colonnade provides a magnificent view of the city.

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tours:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

The Church of Resurrection on Spilled Blood & Griboedova Canal

Open: 11.00 - 18.00. Closed on Wed.

2 Griboedova Kanala nab. tel. 315-1636.

Nevskiy Prospekt, Gostinyy Dvor

Completed in 1907 as a memorial church to the Russian emperor Alexander II, on the very spot of crucial terroristic attempt upon him. A sample of "Russian Revival style" in architecture and decorative art at the turn of the XIX-XX centu-ries. Mosaics revetting the church (over 7,000 sq.m) were created to the design of 30 artists, among them V.Vasnetsov, M.Nesterov, A.Ryabushkin, V.Belyaev, N.Kharla-mov.

The church is located at the embankment of Griboedov canal, which used to be named Catherine canal after Catheine the Great during whose ruling the canal was created in 18 century. The winding canal is one of the most romantic place of the city and has 21 bridges over it!

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tours:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

Peterhof: Palace & Park Complex

The Grand Palace museum, Special Storeroom, and Peter I's Palace are open: 10.30 - 17.00.

Closed on Mon and on the last Tue of every month.

Tel. 420-0073.

Other museums are open: 10.30 - 17.00.

The Nizhniy Park museum is open: 9.00 - 20.00, weekends till 21.00.

Fountains are playing: 11.00 - 17.00, Sat, Sun till 18.00.

Peterhof is a jewel of the Russian art, a town of parks, palaces, and fountains. In the past, it used to be an exquisite summer residence of Russian tsars. Verkhniy (Upper) Garden and Nizhniy (Lower) Park, genuine masterpieces of landscape design, hold over 150 fountains and 4 monumental cascades. There are 15 museums working in summer time: the Grand Palace, Special Treasury, Monplaisir, Catherine's Block, Marly, Hermitage, Benois Family Museum, Cottage, Bath Block with Tafeldecker and Kaffeeschenk rooms and the Kitchen, Museum of Collectors, Petrovskiy Aviary, Museum of Royal Yachts, Church of St.Alexander Nevskiy (Gothic Chapel), Peter I's Palace (Village Strelna), and Museum of Fountain-Making (by booking beforehand); open to the public are private rooms of Catherine the Great in the Block-under-the-Crest of the Grand Palace, and the permanent exhibition "Royal Bicycles".

Access: Suburban trains from Baltic Station till the Novy Peterhof station (40 km from St.Petersburg; trip time - about 40 minutes), followed by 348, 350, 351, 352, 356 bus-routes or charter taxi; or charter taxis from metro Baltiyskaya or Leninskiy Prospekt. During summer time - hydrofoil "Meteor" from pier at the Hermitage museum (trip time - about 40 minutes).

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tours:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

Pushkin & Pavlovsk Imperial Residences

The Palace-and-park Ensemble Tsarskoye Selo

Catherine's Palace open: 10.00 - 17.00. Closed on TUE and on the last Mon of every month. Tel. 466-6669.
The exhibition in Alexander's Palace open: 10.00 - 16.30. Closed on Tue. Tel. 466-6669.

The palace-and-park ensemble of Tsar-skoye Selo - former country residence of Russian emperors - is a fascinating mo-nument of the world's architectural and gardening arts of the XVIII-XIX centuries. Its three parks occupy the area of 600 ha, on which over 100 ar-chitectural constructions rise: from magnificent palaces and grand monuments to intimate pavilions and park sculptures. The focus of the Tsarskoselsky ensemble is Catherine's Palace, containing exquisite decorative objects, furniture, Russian and West-European paintings, unique collections of porcelain, amber, weapons, decorative bronze, sculptures, etc. Nowadays, the collection of the museum in Tsarskoye Selo comprises about 20,000 items. During the celebrations of the tercentenary to St.Petersburg, the "Amber Room" was opened after its restoration, one of the official halls in Catherine's Palace.

The Tsarskoselsky Lyceum, an elite school established in Russia in the beginning of the XIX century for noble families offsprings which the great Russian poet A.S.Pushkin attended, is situated next to the palace. In Catherine's Park, the exhibitons "Passions, Weaknesses, Delights... (Man and Woman in the Ancient Days)", "Royal Court Carriage in Tsarskoe Selo" are held.

The exhibition "Recollections in Alexander's Palace" is open in the last residence of Russian emperors, architectural chef d'oeuvre of the XVIII century (architect G.Guarenghi). In its 12 halls, with authentic or partially reconstructed decor, artworks like paintings, graphics, decorative and applied art, costumes, personal belongings, etc. are represented, related to the life of its crowned owners.

Access: Suburban trains from Vitebsk Station terminal to the Detskoye Selo station (25 km from St.Petersburg; travel time - ca.30 minutes); followed by 371, 382 bus-routes to the parks; alternatively 187 bus or charter taxis from Pobedy pl.


The Palace-and-Park Ensemble Pavlovsk

Open: 10.00 - 17.00.
Closed on FRI and on the first MON of every month.
Tel. 470-2156.

This is a superb palace-and-park ensemble of the late XVIII - early XIX centuries which was used as a summer residence of the Rus-sian emperor Paul I and his family. The landscape park, one of the largest in Europe, covers the area of 600 ha. The works on the palace-and-park ensemble on the winding banks of the Slavyanka River lasted for 50 years. Architects: Ch.Cameron, V.Brenna, G.Guarenghi, A.Voronikhin, C.Rossi, sculptors: M.Kozlovsky, I.Martos, I.Prokofiev, F.Gordeyev, G.Demut-Malinovsky. The main collections of the Pavlovsky Palace were formed due to the trip of its owners over Europe in 1781-1782. They visited workshops of well-known artists, ordering and purchasing paintings, furniture, bronze articles, silk fabrics, china sets, a lot of antique sculptures from Italy, etc. They also brought to Russia the gifts from European royal courts. The museum displays excellent portraits by Russian artists and a number of landscape paintings and drawings on Pavlovsk. Private Rooms of Empress Maria Fedorovna decorated by architects Guarenghi and Voronikhin in the early XIX century and enrapturing with their harmonious beauty, are open to the public. After essential restoration, the library by Rossi is open, which was built in 1824 to host abundant collection of books and rarities.

Access: Suburban trains from Vitebsk Station terminal to the Pavlovsk station (27 km from St.Petersburg; travel time - about 30 minutes); or charter taxis from Moskovskaya.

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tours:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

The Naval Museum & The point of Vasilievsky Island with Rostral Columns

Open: 10.30 - 16.45. Closed on Mon, Tue, and on the last Thu of every month.

4 Birzhevaya pl. tel. 328-2501.

Vasileostrovskaya

The Strelka (or Point) picturesquely lies on the edge of Vasilievsky Island overlooking both the Peter and Paul Fortress and the Winter Palace. The Neva is at its widest point here (one kilometer). The Strelka is bordered to the west by the stock exchange building with a great Neptune statue on top. The Strelka was St. Petersburg's main port for over one hundred years, with the big reddish rostral columns serving as lighthouses. During festivities, flames alight the top of the columns and fireworks explode over the Neva.

The Central Naval museum - one of 6 museim located on Strelka and the largest naval museum in the world. It's in the historical building of the Stock Exchange, designed by the architect T. de Thomon, constructed in the early XIX century, it is Founded in 1709, the museum has over 800,000 items, including "The Grandfather of the Russian Navy" - the childhood boat of Peter the Great, models of vessels, examples of weaponry and military machinery, marine paintings.

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tours:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

Rivers, canals & bridges of St.Petersburg

From the very outset the city was built on water, on numerous islands in delta of Neva River. The combination of the architecture and water in St. Petersburg, as well as in Venice, has a special charm. St. Petersburg was built on the delta of the River Neva and is spread out over numerous islands of varying sizes, frequently prompting the nickname the "City of 101 Islands".

Over the centuries numerous bridges were built to connect these islands across the various tributaries of the Neva and the city's many canals (Moika, Fontanka, Kanal Griboyedova, etc.). St.Petersburg has over rivers and canals and about 500 bridges. During the summer months when the river isn't frozen, the bridges across the Neva are open at night to allow ships to pass up and down the river. Bridges are open from May to late October according to a special schedule. Make sure you check the schedules and don't get caught on the wrong side of the river after 2 a.m., or you will be stranded on the wrong side of the river until the drawbridges are lowered between approximately 4:30 a.m. and 5 a.m.

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tour:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

Theaters of Saint-Petersburg, Russian Ballet & Opera

PBallet & Opera performances take a special place in the city cultural life. StPetersburg ballet school is known as one of the best scool of the world. The traditions of Russian classical school are passed from generation to generation by outstanding teachers. The whole world admire the art of Russian prominent dancers such as Rudolf Nuriev, Natalia Makarova, Michael Baryshnikov. Mordern Russian ballet is not only traditional classical school, but the ballet of Boris Eifman (contemporary gifed choreografer), who manages to combine in his show classics and avangard, drama expression and acrobatics, cinema and literature. Valery Mikhailovsky (a dancer and choreografer) has broken the rules of traditionl having created Men's theater where all part are starred by men including Odetta in "the Swan Lake".

To learn more about StPetersburg theatres click here

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tour:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

The Smolny Cathedral

Open 11 - 20. Closed on Wedn.

3/1Rastrelly pl. tel. 3142168.

Chernyshevskaya

Smolny Cathedral's stunning blue-and-white building is undoubtedly one of the architectural masterpieces of the Italian architect Rastrelli, who also created the Winter Palace, the Grand Catherine (Yekaterininsky) Palace in Pushkin, the Grand Palace in Peterhof and many other major St. Petersburg landmarks. The cathedral is the centerpiece of the convent, built by Rastrelli between 1748 and 1764 built to house the daughter of Peter the Great, Elizabeth, after she was disallowed to take the throne and opted instead to become a nun. However, as soon as her Imperial predecessor was overthrown during a coup Elizabeth decided to forget the whole idea of a stern monastic life. The building was only finished 1835 with the addition of a neo-classical interior to suit the changed architectural tastes of the day. Today Smolny Cathedral is used primarily as a concert hall and the surrounding convent houses various offices and government institutions.

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tours:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

The Alexander Nevsky Lavra

1 Monastyrka emb. Tel: 277-5854

Pl. Alexandra Nevskogo

Alexander Nevsky Lavra ensemble is located at the end of Nevsky Prospekt, between Alexander Nevsky Square and the Obvodny Canal, at the confluence of the Monastyrka and Neva rivers; it is considered to be one of the largest architectural ensembles in St. Petersburg.

It was founded by Peter I in 1710 as the Monastery of the Holy Trinity and Saint Grand Duke Alexander Nevsky in honor of the victory over the Swedes won in 1240. In 1712-13 the first wooden Annunciation Church was put up on the left bank of the Monastyrka (or Chiornaya) River, and in 1717 construction of the monastery buildings in stone was started. In 1724 the remains of Alexander Nevsky were on Peter's order transferred from the city of Vladimir to the Blagoveshchenskaya (Annunciation) Church, newly built of stone (in 1790 the silver shrine with the relics was transferred to the Holy Trinity Cathedral).

Most part of the territory is taken up by the Metropolitant Garden and the cemeteries: the Lazarevskoye (18th-century Necropolis), Tikhvinskoye (Necropolis of the Men of Art) and Nikolskoye (founded in 1861) cemeteries. Many outstanding Russian men of culture, statesmen, military and public leaders were buried here.

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tours:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

The Kazan Cathedral & Nevsky Prospect

2 Kazanskaya. Tel.: 318-4528

Gostiny dvor

The Kazan cathedral encircles a small square with a striking double row of beautiful columns. The architect Andrei Voronikhin, who built the church in 1801-1811, was inspired by St. Peter's Basilica in Rome. After the War of 1812, the church became a monument to the Russian victory over Napoleon. Captured enemy banners were put in the cathedral and the famous Russian field marshal Mikhail Kutuzov, who won the most important campaign of 1812, was buried inside the church. The Orthodox cathedral was named after a "miracle-making" icon of Our Lady of Kazan, which the church housed till the early 1930s. The Bolsheviks closed the cathedral for services in 1929, and from 1932 it housed the collections of the Museum of History of Religion and Atheism.

Nevsky Prospekt or the Nevsky Avenue, is the main street in the city of St Petersburg. Planned by Peter the Great as beginning the road to Novgorod and Moscow, the avenue runs from the Admiralty to the Moscow Railway Station and, after making a turn at Vosstaniya Square, to the Alexander Nevsky Lavra. The chief sights include the Rastrelliesque Stroganov Palace, , the Art Nouveau Bookhouse (Dom Knigi), half a dozen 18th-century churches, a monument to Catherine the Great, an enormous 18th-century shopping mall, a mid-19th-century department store, the Russian National Library, and the Anichkov Bridge with its horse statues. The majority of the city's shopping and nightlife, as well as the most expensive apartments, are located on or right off of the Nevsky Prospekt.

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tours:

TOP 15 SIGHTS

Rossi Square & the Alexander Theater

2 Ostrovskogo pl.

Gostiny dvor

The Alexander Theater is the first professional Drama Theatre in Russia. The building was constructed by famous Carlo Rossi. The Theatre completes the ensemble of the two squares and the street named after Rossi. This perfecrly symmetrical street is 22 meters long and 22 meters wide.The building on the right houses Vaganova Choreographic School and the Museum of Theatre and Music Arts. The building on the left was the Imperial Ballet School.

The Gala opening of the Theatre took place in 1832, it was named after wife of Nicholas I. On the Aleksandinsky stage besides wonderful drama plays, the ballet performances are held with the stars of Russian choreography participating.

To learn more about StPetersburg theatres click here

TOP 15 SIGHTS

St.Nickolas'(Naval) Cathedral

1 Nikolskaya pl.

The golden Baroque spires and domes of St. Nicholas' Cathedral rises among the trees at the bottom of Ulitsa Glinki and shines above the bland residential and commercial buildings in the area. It is home to a number of revered 18th-century icons and a fine carved wooden iconostasis. One of the most important icon represents the image of Nicholas the Miracle-Worker, given to the church by Greek sailors, which was taken from Russia by the French in 1812, and returned to Nicholas I by the Prussians in 1835.

St. Nicholas Cathedral is one of a very few cathedrals in the city that was not closed in Soviet times. In 1941, it became the official residence of Metropolitan of Leningrad and Novgorod Alexey (Simanskiy), who served in the cathedral from 1941 to 1944 during the 900-day siege of the city.

To enjoy this sight we advise to take the following tours:

Contact our Customer Support

E-mail: mariarosetours@hotmail.com
Skype: mariarosetours


Why the customers choose MariaRose Tours?

  • Truly the Local Expert
  • 24 hour help line at +7 812 9268270
  • The lowest price guarantee on all activities
  • Our Customers’ comments
  • Save time and money
  • Private Tours: only you and your party
  • No lines
  • High-quality products
  • Secure Booking Engine